pasterwx.blogg.se

Eazy mac album
Eazy mac album












I took it very seriously and my whole idea with One Love is that I potentially wanted to outperform the bigger guys.

eazy mac album

You sound exactly like you do on your album, how did you pull that off? I really appreciated the choreography of the dancers and your stage presence. So when it happened, I was super stoked.” I kind of hit him up (Bugsy Brown from Two Towers), went to the studio with him and got him to listen to the album and then he was sold on the idea. Like I had the songs, but I didn’t have a project yet. “I really wanted to be on One Love last year, which would have been a horrible move because I had nothing really to perform. Let’s talk about One Love you were the only local rapper on the main stage, how did that happen? It kind of worked out better than I could have expected because I got to say ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to every shot.” “Yeah, my cousin Brandon and I got all the footage then bought a program called Final Cut Pro, which neither of us had ever used and then we edited the whole thing ourselves within four weeks. So you shot it in five days and then had to edit it yourself? I was talking with a friend who asked what videos I would do and I told him, ‘it feels like every song could be a video,’ and he said, ‘Well why don’t you do a short film?’ I’ve always wanted to do that, but I never really had enough time to think about it, so this was a great opportunity to do that.” “I finished the album and then I was like, I’m going to do an animated video for ‘Problems’ and I’m gonna do a lyric video for ‘Sharks’, a video for ‘Life We Chose’ and I want to do a video for ‘All Fall Down.’” Hahaha, no how did you come up with it ? Walk us through it.

eazy mac album

“You mean how did I have sex with something and have it?” Why don’t you tell us about your short film, it’s so powerful, how did you conceive it?

eazy mac album

“The next period of music I make is going to be the best music I’ve ever made and I’m going to put the most into it.” I’m happy because I’m realizing this is what I’m supposed to do,” he said making reference to the birth of his ideas for his next album. “I don’t know why I stopped making music. “It was like a god damn drill into the centre of my brain and every deep thought I ever had was so clear.”Īfter a long walk in Fish Creek, the crew found themselves back home when Eazy Mac broke down. “I did acid one time almost two years ago for the first time and it changed my whole life,” Mac said. His buddy Bdice had moved to Calgary to live with Eazy Mac and suggested that he and the boys all do LSD to shake-up the dry-spell. I would just hang out and drink beer, listen to my friends argue about Kiprusoff and tried my hardest to be a normal person.”īut normal wasn’t enough. “I kind of felt relief at first, it was nice to have the pressure off. So I just literally stopped,” said Eazy Mac. “I thought maybe this is a sign from the universe that this isn’t going to work out. I wanted to make more music after that but people around me got depressed.” “I’d always send that track because I got the best feedback from that. “I had quit rapping because I felt such a resistance after GIB6ERISH,” a song that’s garnered more than 86,000 views since it was released four years ago. The album also features Canadian talent from Pik, Bdice, Golden and Merkules, who each add serious depth and flavour into the mix.īut with all the momentum Eazy Mac has going, it’s hard to believe that only two years ago he had almost given up on his craft. The short, which clocks in just under 19 minutes, is an amalgamation of music video segments all edited by Mac himself and his cousin Brandon Taylor, which showcases the entirety of his album that he created and produced with Adam Stanton. We hear haunting samples of Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black in the track “Problems” that’s illustrated with iconic hyper-color graphics and get chills listening to Jefferson Airplane in a new light as Mac explores the altered states that trouble and inspire him in “Chasing Rabbits,” which feature him managing to carry seven bunnies in his arms and pockets on a sunny blissful day. The effusive yet humble Mac Barett (Eazy Mac) was able to sit down with FREQ Magazine to give us the low down on his creative journey for the album and short film entitled ‘Music for the Visually Impaired’, his successes, inspirations and an acid trip that changed his life.Ī rare Calgary native, Eazy Mac has embraced the city that raised him with his music and short with an eloquent and hypnotic display of visuals, witty lyricism and emotional production.

eazy mac album

Hot on the heels of his debut album release, a short film that’s amassed more than 11,000 views in the first month since its dropped, and a tight performance as the city’s only local rapper to headline One Love’s main stage, Eazy Mac is quickly carving his name into the Calgary hip-hop scene.














Eazy mac album